Sitting and Waiting

It is no secret that I was operating under the assumption that I would begin my teaching internship (AKA student teaching) on Monday, Jan 23rd.  This, however, was not been the case.  Ida told us on Friday (20 Jan) that we actually had a meeting scheduled on Monday, so we wouldn’t be able to go to school that day.  The meeting went really well; we got to meet some people we will be working with, and the only professor we’ll have.  (The class we’re taking is on the history of the Swedish school system, politics involved and theorists [ahem DEWEY] whose theories the Swedes employ.)  Also during this meeting, we scheduled a time to meet with the teacher we’ll be working with at the middle school and told that we could likely start at the middle school on Thursday 26 Jan.

Unfortunately, this meeting had to be cancelled and rescheduled to Thursday evening, meaning that at the absolute soonest, we can’t be in the schools until Friday 27 Jan.  This is a tad frustrating, mostly because I feel like I’m falling behind my classmates in the United States.  They have all been in their classrooms and teaching since the beginning of January, and while I did some pre- make-up days at Elkhorn and taught one day there, I am (obviously) still not prepared to be a teacher.

It’s also a concern because Kentucky requires a minimum of 60 days of student teaching (10 days of which we must be in full control) for teacher certification.  I was counting this week as a full week when I initially counted up my days, but without this week, I’m resting at 55 days in Sweden.  Thank goodness I did 9 days at Elkhorn before I came here, otherwise I’d be up a creek without a paddle!  I am determined to make the most of my time here, but I know I’d struggle with doing that if I was too concerned about this time “off” counting against me when I apply for certification in the Spring.  I’m glad to have had that time at Elkhorn, and my professors and COST coordinators at UK have all made it clear that, if need be, I can put in some more time at schools in the US when I get back. It’s really nice to know that there are other things I can do to meet this requirement, and that I have people who are willing to help me do them.

I don’t want to call this a wasted week because it’s not (after all, I am in Sweden) but I absolutely hate having nothing to do, so I’m just kind of stewing.  I’ve been walking around the city and the university, becoming better acquainted with my corridor-mates and working on my online portfolio, but the primary reason I am here is to learn to teach.  I have spent a week of time I had anticipated being a part of my teaching walking around Linköping and just waiting.  This is the competitive Emily coming out full force; I just want to make sure my experience is as beneficial to me as my classmates’ experiences will be to them, and part of that is having substantial time inside the classrooms.  I think I’m too eager for my own good.  Being this eager to start and do a good job is not such a great thing right now, but when I start student teaching (and when I’m employed) it’ll have its benefits.

For now, I will leave you with these photos.  I mentioned in my last post that there are bikes everywhere — here is some photographic evidence:

 

6 thoughts on “Sitting and Waiting

  1. I have a feeling this will be a post that you look back at later and think, “all that stress and everything was fine!” Don’t drive yourself crazy :]

    Also, until you added those lovely pics of the bikes, I had a hard time believing their existence.

Leave a Reply

